University of Tampere merged with Tampere University of Technology creating new Tampere University

Tampere University is created on 1 January 2019 by merging the University of Tampere (UTA) and Tampere University of Technology. A new foundation-based university, Tampere University is the second largest university in Finland. At the new University, technology and social sciences come together in a unique way focussing on multidisciplinary research across institutional boundaries.

Tampere University will also become the majority shareholder of Tampere University of Applied Sciences. Close collaboration between Tampere University and Tampere University of Applied Sciences creates a new university community in Tampere made up of more than 30,000 students and close to 5,000 employees. Technology, health and society are at the core of this unique community’s research and education.

More information on Tampere University:

More information on Tampere university community:

Video: Tampere universities