The network

The Finnish doctoral training network in philosophy was established in 2015 as a collaboration network for philosophy units in Finnish universities. It was preceded by the Doctoral Programme of Philosophy (1995-2015), which was funded by the Academy of Finland. The aim of the network is to support doctoral training in philosophy in the Finnish universities by providing travel grants, organizing an annual graduate conference, and supporting smaller workshops in order to bring people together. For practical and educational reasons, working language in events organized by network is English. Partner universities include all universities whose PhD-programs include philosophy: universities of Helsinki, Jyväskylä, Tampere, Turku, and Åbo Akademi. They have agreed that the post-graduate level philosophy courses in the partner universities are open for all members of the network.

The network has gained four year funding from the Kone Foundation (Koneen Säätiö) for the years 2016-2019. In 2018 the Kone Foundation decided to renew the funding for years 2020-2013.

The board

The activity of the nework is led by the board with representatives from all the partner universities. The current board members are prof. Eerik Lagerspetz (Turku), prof. Olli Lagerspetz (Åbo), prof. Arto Laitinen (Tampere), Ph.D. Caterina Marchionni (Helsinki), prof. Mikko Yrjönsuuri (Jyväskylä) and Jaana Virta (Phd student member, Tampere). The network is coordinated from the University of Tampere, by Arto Laitinen and Tommi Vehkavaara.

Members – Doctoral students

All the accepted doctoral students of the partner universities majoring in philosophy are members of the network. The board may accept also other doctoral students as members if their dissertation projects are of philosophical relevance.